Remembering Our Angels

Four years ago today, a heinous crime was committed at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut.  Personally, this hit home on many levels.  Not only did I grow up in the town next to Newtown, but I am also a teacher.  If ever there was a town that something like this would “never happen in,” it was Newtown.  Every morning when I walk into my classroom, I place my key down on a table next to my door and I cannot help but think of that day.  After all, it’s one of the reasons I intentionally leave my keys where I do.  And four years later, the events that unfolded are truly still incomprehensible to me.

When you walk into my classroom, you might notice that my desk is topped with a bright, colorful, laminated collage with photos and inspirational quotes.  It’s a great pick-me-up on a tough day.  But what might go unnoticed is something that sits on the front, left corner of my desk.  It’s a laminated letter on understated white paper.  In the wake of the tragedy, I came across this letter from Nelba Marquez-Greene, whose daughter Ana Grace got her wings on December 14, 2012.  I encourage you to take the time to read it.  http://www.edweek.org/ew/articles/2013/09/06/03marquezgreen.h33.html

As we remember all of the people whose lives were forever changed because of that day in Newtown, let us also remember the wise words of Ana Grace and her mother.

Leave a Reply

